SPOTLIGHT: Being, Becoming, Being by Christina Daniels



The Meeting

We would like to meet.
It is after many days.

She cannot come at seven.
I cannot meet at eight.

We try.
We fail.
Desire passes.

Many months will pass.
Then, we will plan again.




Doubt

He loves me?
He loves me not.
He loves me?
He loves me not.

Yet if he truly loved me,
Would I ask,
If he loved me not.




The End

It was ended.

Not by what was spoken.

But by all that we left unspoken.




The Twins

Two pairs of hands were held in mine,
Till time had emptied itself of meaning.

Two pairs of eyes looked into my soul,
Until I spoke with their voice, no more my own.

Two pairs of lips,
Hungrily searched for self in me.

Hearts that beat as two,
Found a single harmony.

One etched the we into the me.
One a diminishing memory.

Twins.
Identical, born different.

Vision.
Illusion.

Love.
The original,
The cheap imitation.




Shards

Our eyes meet.
We stand across the room.

Memories.
Do they haunt him too?

The only sound.
It is breaking glass.

Shards.
Are they pieces of my heart?



Leave a comment